First, how do you distinguish the act of praying from the person who does it? “Do you have a prayer?” seem more likely to mean, “Do you have something to pray?” instead of “Do you have someone to pray for you?” I’ll stick to prayer for the act and pray-er for the person doing it.

Anyway, I’ve taken this concept for granted for at least a couple of years and have forgotten that not everyone knows what I mean. I have a friend who I was talking to last night and he said that his wife had asked him if he had his pray-ers praying for him. He said, “No, what’s a pray-er?” In my church leaders recruit people to help out by simply praying for them.

Imagine Easter’s coming up and you’re pulling out all the stops. Have you noticed that the bigger and more spiritually significant the event, the more likely it is that Murphy pays a visit? Things that don’t normally go wrong just seem to go wrong at spiritually significant times.

That’s what your pray-er is for. You drop them an email, treat them to coffee, or just simply bump into them and say, “Hey, thus and so event is coming up. Could you keep it in your prayers? You know how hard it is for me right before this type of thing?!” That’s it.

I know prayer works because I’ve seen it over and over again. Bad things happen if I don’t have my pray-ers praying for me and they don’t if I do. In addition, I get to be the pray-er for on of my leaders–an elder in my church. I’m excited every time he says, “Hey, elders’ meeting is this Wednesday. Pray for discernment for me.” It’s my honor to be asked and to get to pray for him.

Recruit pray-ers for yourself. It will be an honor to them and a help to you.

Paul

