I can’t tell you how many times I’ve made shorter people look taller and taller people look shorter. The morning anchor where I worked was about 5′ 5″ (at most). The morning weatherman was in the 6′ range. She’d sit on a padded seat. He’d lower his seat, so that they both looked about the same size. To further the illusion, I’d shoot him (with the video camera of course) from slightly above when he stood at the chroma-key wall. The back-up weather person was about 5′ 5″, so I’d shoot her from slightly below to make her look taller. One of the sports guys was about a foot taller than the other, so the short one would stand on a phone book and the tall one would spread his feet slightly when they stood together. This only worked because you couldn’t see their feet.

From our friends over at Bag of Nothing, The BBC reporter who was caught short…
This is a picture of one of the basic techniques in making a shorter person appear taller. Fun stuff.

Paul

