I remember when I first heard of podcasting. I had been a huge fan of “The ScreenSavers” on TechTV. When G4 bought TechTV, I thought that I’d get the best of both worlds and was saddened when I was wrong and the best of both networks were sent away into the ether never to return. I had considered getting satellite tv just so I could have TechTV, now I was glad I hadn’t.

Not long after that I mentioned in a thread that I missed TechTV. One of my fellow church geeks mentioned that Leo Laporte, Patrick Norton, and several of the other former ScreenSavers were doing a podcast. I’d never heard of podcasting, but as an early adopter, I decided to research it.

I was pleased to find that my friend was right. Leo and the gang had in fact started podcast. I listened to the first two episodes with wrapped attention. I could envision a day when I could virtually create my own talk radio station with the subjects I liked (mostly technology) and listen at my leisure. No longer would I have to listen to what was on the AM stations when it was on. I was enamored by the possibilities. Now, I only needed to find a way to subscribe.

It was before Apple added support to iTunes for podcasting. In fact, RSS 2.0 support (required for Podcasting) was difficult to come by at all. Add to that the age of my computer (four years old at the time) and finding a Podcasting client (aka “Podcatcher”) was virtually impossible. I was forced to manually (whenever possible) download the shows. This was difficult at first. Many of the show I could find only had their feeds published and lacked direct links to their media. Because of bandwidth costs, many shows were trying alternate means of distribution like Bittorrent or even email.

I knew that something had to change. It did. In May of 2005, Steve Jobs announced that iTunes 4.9 would include Podcasting support. Since Apple includes support for older computers in their software, I knew I’d be safe to upgrade.

At the same time, I was considering launching a podcast of my own. I discussed it with my family, found the time, and began planning my show. I went to the 2005 ChurchMedia.net national convention, knowing that I was planning to do a podcast. I returned home and recorded the keynote I’d delivered at the convention. I like to think of it as my pilot episode.

It was nothing like subsequent episodes, but starting it was an important step. I knew that it was a work in progress (as it still is), but it was more important to start and improve than to plan and never start.

Paul

