There’s a saying: “Time flies when you’re having fun.” It’s a funny thing about time. It seems fluid. A day at an amusement park seems to last for hours, but a day at work lasts for weeks.

When I was working in television, arriving late wasn’t an option. You had to be conscious of the time–always. Going onto the air was timed to the second. Commercial breaks lasted between 90 seconds and 2 and 1/2 minutes. During that time, if I needed to go to the bathroom or I wanted to get a cup of coffee, I needed to be constantly aware of the time it took and the time I had left.

I use that same skill at church. When I take the countdown clock from a PIP to fullscreen, I do a countdown. When I play a video clip, I’m constantly aware of the time left. I count down at first in 30 second increments, then 10 for the last minute, then 5 for the last 30 seconds, then 1 second increments for the last 10 seconds.

Between services, I know that it takes me less than a minute to use the restroom; the video booth is right next to the restroom. It takes a couple of minutes to get coffee and no matter when I tell the camera guys to be back, they’re there in the last two minutes.

Yesterday, between services we had like 20 minutes. To me this felt like hours. I couldn’t help but think that I had tons of time. When you feel like time is stretched, it does. It’s television time.

Paul

