Well, it’s been over a week since my first post on my loss of electricity. Now, I can look back on what happened with some clarity. If you read my blog often, you know that I’m rarely not on my weekend volunteer duties at church. The truth is that I love what I get to do. So it’s more than a little odd that the couple of weeks I am off bookend this unusual season. I’m off this weekend, so I didn’t go to church tonight. How strange that I’m off the day that our power goes out and comes back on.

That’s right. My power has been reconnected after a harrowing ordeal that (according to everyone I’ve talked to) could have caused my house to burn down. I now have a new meter base and a electric service. It happened in a time right before I did my taxes (that paid for it all plus some). It happened at a time when temperatures outside never got below 25 degrees F, so (with the leaks in my faucets) I didn’t worry at all about my pipes freezing. We stayed (longer than expected) at a friend’s house who had more than enough room for our family and I was able to help when their carbon monoxide detector had a malfunction.

Now, I’m sitting at home, in my house, on my laptop, using my internet connection, typing on my computer, lit up with my electricity. It’s so comforting to know it’s mine, humble as it is. I’m not in someone else’s house, nice as it is. It’s ours and I know where our stuff is. I’m really looking forward to sleeping in my bed. It’s amazing how I took this humble little house for granted. I don’t think I will again.

Paul

