turntable.jpgI’ve often thought it odd that churches so love their organs, but hate other electric instruments. Maybe it’s that organs were originally operated via bellows, but that’s almost never the case any more. Additionally, organs are expensive. You can’t really pick one up for a couple of hundred dollars. Typically, they cost much more than that–often in the multiple hundreds of thousands of dollar. I’ve heard people bemoan the fact that organists are becoming harder and harder to find. A church might have a couple of organists (at the most) while they have tons of pianists, guitarist, drummers, etc.

When I was a teen, the electric instrument I preferred was the electric guitar. What I failed to understand at the time was why we couldn’t use it at church. I went to a Baptist Church and the most radical music was “Pass It On”–written in the 1970’s, the same decade that I was born in. This was the 1980’s and I actually knew people that who said that rock -n roll as a musical form was from the depths of hell, not the lyrics mind you, but the driving beat and thrashing solos.

Fast forward to today where rock is much more accepted, but rap is (at least in some circles) considered as depraved as rock was in the 1980’s. How many churches that do have bands wouldn’t dare have someone scratching and busting out the rhymes? When DJ Mike arrived, I saw the future. I’d heard of something called, “DJ-led worship”. Now, I’ve seen it in action. It reminded me of the scene in Matrix:Reloaded where Morpheus cast the vision of dancing so that the machines could hear. That’s worship. In that case, the worship was human-centric. Church should facilitate our abandon in worshipping God.

In our culture, worship with abandon, undignified David-like worship doesn’t happen with an organ and increasingly not with an electric guitar (as in the 1980’s), but with the two turntables and a microphone.

Paul

