A couple of weeks ago I wrote a post called Biblical Miracles. At the time, I only knew of what the leaders at my church had committed to give. Now, I know much more.

Let me tell you the story about a widow. Her husband had just died in an accident leaving her enough to bury him and live for a few months. She felt God calling her to give to His work. As other people gave out of their excess, she gave all she had. You might recognize this story as Mark 12:42-44. I grew up knowing this story as “The Widow’s Mite”. I never knew that I’d go to church with her. I never knew that she had four kids. Her name is Sarah.

I could tell you of the guy who gave the gold chain that marked his identity or the woman who gave up not an arm, but a leg–literally. She gave the money to buy a replacement prosthetic leg. That’s when her story took a twist as she met a man who makes them for a living at our church.

So, there are about 900 families at our church. 922 committed to give. For the first offering, we needed $1 million to order the supplies to start building. Up to this point, the largest offering we’d ever received was just over $500,000. We received $1,022,000 in less than 24 hours. Now for the big number. We had a goal of $8,625,000, but found out that the building was actually going to cost $10,625,000 to build. That’s a major blow except that, over three years, we’ve pledged as a church to give just over $12 million. That includes $1500 from the kids, just over $10,000 from the middle schoolers and $15,000 from the high schoolers.

I can’t believe I get to be a part of it. I know how the disciples must have felt as they looked at 12 baskets of leftovers after Jesus fed the 5000. I can’t believe I get to do this!

Anyone care to move to Lexington?

Paul

